Coconut Curry Soup

We all have bad eating weekends. It happens.

Normally, as any obsessive paleo eater does, I can list off exactly what cheats I made and when. This weekend was so absurdly awful that I can’t even begin to remember what I have. I know there were some cookies, too much candy, and some pasta to boot. However, something good did come out of all this. I remembered that it’s absolutely not worth it. I’ve felt awful for two whole days now getting back to my normal eating. I don’t think back on the weekend and go, “Wow that oatmeal cookie was totally worth the stomach pain and exhaustion I feel now!”

So I’m very much so looking forward to getting back to CrossFit tomorrow morning and re-adjusting to paleo the way it’s supposed to be!

The first thing I did on Monday night when I got home is tried out a new paleo recipe! I found the original recipe on Pintrest (http://www.cookingforseven.com/2011/01/coconut-chicken-curry-soup/)  and realized that I could make some simple switches to make it into paleo yummies. First of all I am NOT a vegetarian but by the time I got home from my parents house I was starving and just didn’t feel like chopping up chicken. However I love love LOVE broccoli so it turned into a yummy vegetable curry soup!

Image

Coconut Curry Soup (serves 2)

Ingredients:

1 cup finely chopped onion

1 1/2 cups of vegetable broth

1 can of unsweetened, full fat coconut milk

2 teaspoons of curry powder

1 tablespoon lime juice

1 green bell pepper thinly sliced

1 head of broccoli cut into florets

1 teaspoon of ghee

DIrections:

1. Heat up your ghee in a medium saucepan. (Did I mention this is a one pot recipe?!)

2. Toss in your onions, peppers, and broccoli and cook until all of the veggies are almost soft

3. Add in coconut milk, broth, curry powder, and lime juice and simmer until all the flavors have combined and the vegetables are fully cooked. 

The original recipe added coconut flakes which I would completely recommend. When I threw my version together I didn’t have the list of ingredients in front of me and I was going from memory. Either way it turned out creamy, yummy, and makes me want to try more things using coconut milk!

I hope you enjoy!

 

About mjaime

I'm a 20-something engaged lady in all kind of life transitions. Good thing I happened to find an amazing CrossFit box and a new obsession with Paleo eating to help me along the way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

